For those of you who don’t read the newsletter, here’s a poem that was in this week’s newsletter.  Last week we all wrote Magic Box poems, and I took one line from each to make this.  (Unfortunately, two students were absent, though, so they aren’t represented).

The Magic Box

 

I will put in my box

The gentle wind of a warm day

The feathery surface of a butterfly’s wing

The wish of a shooting star

A dream I will never forget

 

I will put in the box

 

Silver dropped from the sky

The waves from a purple ocean

The movement of stillness where nothing will be

 

I will put in my box

 

The juice of a blackberry

A horse riding a knight

The door to writing a poem

 

My box will hold

A spark from the first fire

The cozy hug of a grandmother

The seed from the first garden

 

I will keep my box in a spot

where the sun shines golden

on the ground

 

 

